Get a personal property value estimate. :). It didn’t damage any other property, but since I was a newbie, I figured I would call my insurance company and see if it was the sort of thing they would cover. With a VPPI, you describe each item to your insurance company and provide proof of ownership and an appraised value. Insurance ends up being such a pricey endeavor especially if it’s overdone. While we are independent, the offers that appear on this site are from companies from which finder.com receives compensation. But for auto, I will gladly. Just curious, is this person from the U.S.? I’m actively looking for a way to optimize coverage across my auto, property, etc. He also earned his BA from William & Mary and his MBA from UC Berkeley. Nonetheless, it got put on the CLUE (Comprehensive Loss Underwriting Exchange) database as a “claim,” even though it cost the insurance company $0. Actual cash value, market value, and replacement cost all apply to personal property insurance coverage, too. Valuable personal property coverage isn’t for everyone. But you may be underinsured if you have high-value items, such as artwork, jewelry or antiques. It can be purchased for any home rented or owned. I put “broken into” in quotes because no window was smashed. People make mistakes all the time. Take photos or even a video of your personal property; Keep a description of all items, including their estimated value; Once you’ve assessed what your personal property is worth, contact your insurer to make sure you’re properly covered, especially when it comes to expensive items that may need a rider. This online marketplace does most of the work for you, matching you with quotes from 14 highly rated home insurers. Enjoy great rates and wide coverage with USAA. He apparently left his car unlocked. Of course, a good safe is the best way to insure any household items that fit in it. finder.com compares a wide range of products, providers and services but we don't provide information